La Tortura!


The Best Tortures Ever!!!!

Poire d’Angoisse. “The Pear of Anguish.” As the name inplies it was ..pear shaped.  Inserted into the mouth, vagina, or anus; the torturer would turn a screw that would open the four leaves. This was rarely used as an execution, more just as a punishment. It could simply tear the skin or completely destroy that orifice. 

pear

Flaying, or skinning alive.  Generally, the removal began at the face and the victim was often dead before the flayer reached his waist. This is one of the oldest methods. and as pictured, even Michelangelo depicted it. And this may be incorrect, but I actually don’t think so. Michelangelo often inserted himself into his paintings. I believe the flayed victim is a little self portait.

flaying

The Brazen Bull. This one was an execution device invented by the ancient Greeks.  A huge hollow copper bull with a door in the side. The condemned was shoved inside and the door locked.  A fire was then built underneath and the poor bastard inside was roasted to death.  During the Greek times, they rigged a complicated series of tubes to channel and amplify the victims screams into the sound of a raging bull to further entertain the spectators.

bull

 

Rat Torture. To me, this is probably the most horrifying.  I could literally cry if I think about it too long.

“During the Dutch Revolt, Diederick Sonoy, an ally of William the Silent, is documented to have used a method where a pottery bowl filled with rats was placed open side down on the naked body of a prisoner. When hot charcoal was piled on the bowl, the rats would attempt to escape by “gnaw[ing]] into the very bowels of the victim”

I took that straight from Wiki cuz there was just no better way to say it. An effective rat torture for me would just be to *show* me a rat. and i’d fall victim to psychological torture.

rat rat rat

 

Cheshire Grin or Glasgow smile.  The victim is cut from the corner of the mouth to the ears, forming a caricature of a huge smile. The Black Dahlia murderer gave her one. I couldnt find any other example of one,so i used one of her autopsy photos.

Cheshire Grin

The Rack. Often said to be the most painful device, it was often an effective torture device when not even used. Making someone watch someone else being pulled apart on it, was often enough to get the confession. Generally, they still got the rack, tho.  You would lay on a flat surface with two ropes tying your ankles and two more pulling your arms over your head. the torture would tighten the ropes , stretching your limbs, and often pulling them off completely (arms especially)

the rack

The Judas Cradle, a terrible medieval torture where the victim would be placed on top of a pyramid-like seat. The victim’s feet were tied to each other in a way that moving one leg would force the other to move as well. The triangular-shaped end of the judas cradle was inserted in the victim’s anus or vagina. This torture could last, depending on some factors discussed below, anywhere from a few hours to complete days.

The time it took someone to die varied enormously from individual to individual. Torturers would sometimes add weight to the victim’s legs as to increase pain and hurry the victim’s death. Other torturers would place oil on the device which increased pain considerably.

This device was rarely, if at all, washed. If the victim did not die quickly enough, or their painful execution was interrupted, they would invariantly die from an infection.

~Medievality.com

Judas Cradle

~ by Layla on May 12, 2008.

14 Responses to “La Tortura!”

  1. Hi,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, every time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

  2. these are absolutely ghastly…..the brazen bull must have been awful and the noise that would have come from the dying person too much to to even imagine.

    • I know, right? I got the impression that they ate it up like candy, tho.
      For me, hearing it would be worse than watching.

  3. there plenty more dreadful methods, Layla….let me know if you need a few more

    steve

  4. I have collected a lot of photos of these dreadful methods for no reason other than an interest in how people used to live and ‘die’

    • I can always dig more pics. I want, please! I could do “The Punishment: Reckoning Day Is Here”

      …or something? so it’s always nice to meet someone who’s also twisted.

  5. that sounds good, Layla, great titel. How do I send my pics to you

    Steve

  6. I’m currently being held prisoner by the Russian mafia and being forced to post spam comments on blogs and forum! If you don’t approve this they will kill me. They’re coming back now. penis enlargement!!!!!!

    edited: omg. that. absolutely. slays. me. some spam gets to stay. this is absolutely one of them! way to go!!!

  7. Story of my life

  8. Really cool and gruesome. Feel guilty for liking this but is interesting.

  9. I was wondering what is up with that weird gravatar??? I know 5am is early and I’m not looking my best at that hour, but I hope I don’t look like this! I might however make that face if I’m asked to do 100 pushups. lol

  10. Any woman that relies upon a man for financial or emotional security is setting herself up for failure and disappointment. Men do not want a fully grown child, they want a strong, independent woman.

  11. Then you will notice it everywhere, simply since individuals
    are genuinely receptive after you exude the Tao Of Badass.

    Haha Sometimes Spam is a beautiful thing. Like finding a fortune cookie that changes your life. Those get to stay. “the Tao of Badass” – so awesome!

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
