A Cheeseburger is the New Maserati


175 Dollar Cheeseburger

The Richard Nouveau – from the Wall Street Burger Shoppe, natch – comes topped with a blizzard of real gold flakes, plus 25 grams of black truffles, a seared slab of foie gras and an aged Gruyere typically reserved for a high-class cheese tray.

175 dollar burger

I have to admit, that while I get righteously indignant about these over priced food stories; i also love them. It fascinates me endlessly that people would charge that much for a sandwich. Even more titillating for me, is that people PAY that much for said sandwich.  I just boggle when I think at 15 percent? you’d tip the waiter 26 bucks and that’ s assuming you didn’t order anything to drink.

Two hundred dollars for dinner is a lot.  I’m not sophisticated and jaded enough to be unimpressed by that.  In my world, that’s a very nice restaurant.  That’s BOTH people eating and sharing a bottle of wine.  If I’m to be totally honest, that’s less than 5 times in my life so far.  Here? That’s one cheeseburger.

I suppose there are people that would feel my $200 dinner date was no more impressive than if he took me to McDonald’s.  I understand.   I’ve felt snobbish when friends of mine have raved about their dinner date to the fancy restaurant the night before.  They chatter until they run out of oxygen and when they pause to suck some in, I’ve asked “where did you go?”  “Olive Garden and blah blah blah ” and there they go again! My badness is when i think privately “Wow.  Not impressed at all.” It’s not that I have a problem with Olive Garden. I love Olive Garden. I just don’t think of it as that fancy of a restaurant.  For me, there is no ..decadence in going to Olive Garden. The tiramisu is sinful but…that’s another blog. 

I think part of the reason I get my panties all assunder about this cheeseburger, is the decadence angle. There is none. It’s a fucking CHEESEBURGER. You know the guy ordering this will be some asshat douchebag who’s all “look how rich I am. I can afford this!” in his little offcenter ballcap.  And yes, I said “guy;” because this is a guy thing.  And this, unlike some of the other status foods Ive blogged about, is something the guy WILL order for himself.  I’ve said in other blogs that he orders these things (usually for the date) to “ensure that there will be fucking.”  I still hold that to be true.  Only in this instance, he gets to be the one to wolf down the status symbol.

I am ok with exorbitant indulgences in the name of decadence.  I understand that foie gras is so expensive because of the labor and the scarcity.  It’s also just THAT fucking good.  I also understand that some people have the means in which to indulge and others of us, not so much. The elitism is just part of the thrill.  Aside from wishing I was one of those people, I’m ok with that too. 

Maserti made 50 MC12’s.  They sold for 700,000 dollars each. Granted, it’s a racing car, but my point is: there were 50 of them.  This cheeseburger is the edible equivalent of taking a Toyota Tercel and blinging it out with 30,000 dollars of extra crap. Yeah, he pimped his ride. Yeah, he’s The Man. But…….at the end of the day, he still has a Toyota Tercel.

~ by Layla on May 21, 2008.

3 Responses to “A Cheeseburger is the New Maserati”

  1. I had two for lunch. I was hungry.

  2. This is why the terr’ists hate us, ya know…

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Brooch

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
