How Much Is That Doggy In The Window?


Bet you didn’t realize the window was a restaurant?

Dog meat has been struck from the menus of officially designated Olympic restaurants, and Beijing tourism officials are telling other outlets to discourage consumers from ordering dishes made from dogs, the official Xinhua News Agency reported Friday.

dog being prepared

The thing that baffles me is that they are basically taking it off the menu for the duration of the western invasion.  Why bother? I get the whole “let’s clean up our nasty toilets and teach citizens about lines and spitting” Neither of those things are integral parts of their culture; rather, they are oversights in decorum. The dogmeat is, however.

I surfed around the net and it’s not all bald, scorched, and eviscerated puppies piled on a dirty table in a marketplace.  Puppybeef.com has nice prepackaged cuts and you log in for current prices. Although, to be perfectly honest, I’m not sure if that’s a joke website or for real.  I didn’t log in because…well… I didn’t want anyone to think I ate dog.  You know, thinking of it in terms of actuality, not just ‘in theory’ is making me a little bit sick to my stomach.

 

I look at this nice pleasant dog and think about “Whole Puppy Beef Spit Roasts are now available! ” Gravy. Puppy gravy.

~ by Layla on July 15, 2008.

One Response to “How Much Is That Doggy In The Window?”

  1. We don’t eat dog in North America, as a rule. I’m sure there are some exceptions when one is starving. But we eat a lot of beef, a product of an animal that is sacred and unkillable right next door to China. I am sure there are certain things we do here culturally that would make most cringe in Asian countries. I just don’t understand, either, why they would bother removing dog dishes from the menus for the Olympics. Who cares, except PETA? I wouldn’t necessarily eat it, but I’ve definiately tasted other meat that most wouldn’t eat either.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
