40 Things You Didn’t Know About Me


I found this mememe on Marla’s blog. I just referenced her blog; and since I’m not her fucking publicist or mother, I’m not linking it again!  

  1. My uncle once: took me to Atlantic City and we walked on the beach barefoot at midnight. It was January, too.  And cold as all hell.
  2. Never in my life:  will I learn to latch-hook.
  3.  When I was five:  I became a latch-key kid.
  4.  High School was: the  last bit of life that is relatively consequence free.
  5. I will never forget: how it felt to be riding in a cab alone in Amsterdam. It was the best “grown up” moment of my life so far.
  6. I once met: the ambassador to South Africa.
  7. There’s this girl I know who used to always: make her 4th Date Guys watch “Princess Bride” with her, and if he did not like it, he did not get to be 5th Date Guy.
  8. Once, at a bar:  the bartender walked in on my date and I ….doing stuff in the women’s room.
  9. By noon, I’m usually:  counting the minutes til “Go Home” time.
  10. Last night:  I watched a really bizarre Chinese movie in subtitles and had dinner with my brother.
  11. If only I had:  an English bulldog puppy, I would have the dog of my dreams.
  12. Next time I go to church: I want to wear a big floppy hat.
  13. Terry Schiavo:  makes me hungry.
  14. What worries me the most:is how fucking neurotic I realize I am whenever I contemplate all the different worries going thru my head at any given moment.
  15. When I turn my head left, I see: straight out one of my office windows to a brick wall.
  16. When I turn my head right, I see:  the closet in my office where my pants, skirts, jackets, and sweaters live.
  17. You know I’m lying when:  I don’t know. I don’t remember the last time I told a real lie.
  18. What I miss most about the eighties:  Mickey!!!! He was so fine!
  19. If I was a character in Shakespeare, I’d be: Katerina.
  20. By this time next year:  It will have been an entire year!
  21. A better name for me would be:  Vivian. (yeah it’s from Pretty Woman…I liked it before that movie.)
  22. I have a hard time understanding: why it’s so challenging for so many to be considerate of other people’s time; especially when THEY were the ones that asked for that time in the first place! 
  23. If I ever go back to school, I’ll: finish my degree and go to law school.
  24. You know I like you if:   …If  I have to explain it to you, I’ll probably put you back into the dislike category.
  25. If I ever won an award, the first person I’d thank would be: well, that totally depends on the award and how I won.
  26. Darwin, Mozart, Slim Pickens, & Geraldine Ferraro:  Talented Monkeys, Magic Flutes, Blazing Saddles, & Chick Politicians
  27. Take my advice, never: get upset because you were underestimated. No position is more powerful.
  28. My ideal breakfast is:  nothing. Eating breakfast annoys me.
  29. A song I love, but do not own is:  Opeth’s cover of Alice in Chains’ “Would?”
  30. If you visit my hometown, I suggest:  going to have bar-b-q and also hear live jazz.
  31. Tulips, Character Flaws, Microchips, & Track Stars: Holland, Hubris,Hitachi, & Hammer
  32. Why won’t people:refrain from putting bullshit questions like this on otherwise perfectly good mememe’s?
  33. If you spend the night at my house: my cat will kiss you on the lips while you sleep.  She wants to make everyone feel loved.
  34. I’d stop my wedding for:front row tickets to see Led Zepplin.
  35. The world could do without:any more whiny boy bands lacking discernible talent.
  36. I’d rather lick the belly of a cockroach than:  wear really short hair again.
  37. My favorite blonde is:  Val Kilmer.
  38. Paper Clips are more useful than:  everything.
  39. If I do anything well, it’s:  thinking up the perfect comeback, ten minutes after the moment passes.
  40. And by the way:  It’s taken me a week to plow thru this boring ass mememe. But now, I feel like I’ve invested so much time in it…”oh you’re finishin’ it, bitch!”
~ by Layla on May 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “40 Things You Didn’t Know About Me”

  1. […] https://laylay.wordpress.com/2009/05/07/40-things-you-didnt-know-about-me/Darwin, Mozart, Slim Pickens, & Geraldine Ferraro: Talented Monkeys, Magic Flutes, Blazing Saddles, & Chick Politicians; Take my advice, never: get upset because you were underestimated. No position is more powerful. … […]

  2. Ugh.. I’m with you on the breakfast thing. Probably only because it’s always the same fucking piece of Weetabix and skim milk, while I drearily contemplate the pending yawnfest that is work. Crunch… Crunch… Crunch… unless you let it soak to a consistency akin to soggy wet cardboard to shut the GODAMNED ANNOYING CRUNCHING UP.

    Lunch is cool.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
