Pick Me Up A Face at Wal-Mart, Kthnx…


Successful Face Transplant?

Pre and Post Op

[Connie] Culp’s was the world’s first near-total facial transplant and the fourth known facial transplant to have been successfully performed to date.

Yesterday, I heard this story on every Kansas City radio station, 2 different television newscasts, and on at least 5 different Internet news sites. Safe to say, then, it was big news. Why wouldn’t it be? A concept that has mostly only existed in Science Fiction (and a Nick Cage movie) is now a fact. Sadly for that poor woman, she did not look as good as Travolta/Cage did after their movie surgery.

Pre Incident

“The team of 11 surgeons who performed the operation said Culp, who was missing bone support and had been unable to eat or breathe without a tube in her windpipe, could now perform functions normally”

~~~~~~

“Facial transplants are controversial because they carry heavy risks and are performed to improve a patient’s quality of life rather than as a life-saving operation”

I’m not really sure how the author of the article sees Ms. Culp’s situation as only a “quality of life” improvement, given the description that the author himself provided.  I get the point, it’s not exactly the same as a  heart or a kidney..but come on…

I realize I’m nitpicking at the article as a means of avoiding my own thoughts on this. I worry I am going to have to work  harder than normal to not come across as a bitch. Because let’s face it, ordinarily I do not care.  I just feel badly for her. I mean…she manages to survive her own murder (by her husband, for Christ sake), only to be left looking…like that.

I have to commend her for her bravery. I would not step up like this. I wouldn’t want to live.  I don’t care if that makes me a small, petty, and shallow person. I’ll own those things and keep it real. Her “after” picture is a great improvement, true. Not enough, though, to make it worth it.

And also not nearly enough of an improvement to merit the author bringing up the argument of using this procedure for cosmetic/identity theft purposes. Did he not look at that poor woman?  Clearly, the techniques of this surgery have quite a ways to go before we really need to start worrying about whether or not people will abuse it. At this stage of the method, I don’t see a long line of non-disfigured people jostling to be next in line for this look.

~ by Layla on May 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “Pick Me Up A Face at Wal-Mart, Kthnx…”

  1. Are you kidding me ? Of COURSE identity theft is a HUGE concern – if I were a Muppet, I would cancel my credit cards immediately !!

  2. Oh, Grant, Grant, Grant. You have a point. And honestly? I would be offing myself and wear a beautiful dress to my own death. It’s just simply not the same. I guess I’m kinda shallow that way. On a side note, dude that shot her face off to begin with? Got a whopping 7 yrs in prison. I think after that? Before the suicide? He would so be going down too.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
