The Day The Music Died


 

 

Michael Jackson

Today was crazy. First I hear that Farrah Fawcett died, and OK, that’s sad and all, but not really that big of a deal to me. She was before my time.  However, as I was leaving work and hearing about Michael Jackson, that disturbed me. Listening to every DJ report just as many conflicting stories, was weird. Somehow I feel like Michael would have liked knowing that there was such a commotion over him.

As I was driving, I kept remembering  moments from my childhood, and realized how many of them were sound-tracked by his music. I remembered the Victory Tour and thinking that the world would begin and end at that show. In the end, I didn’t get to go; clearly, I survived, but that was one of the biggest disappointments in childhood.  I remembered fistfights breaking out in the cafeteria at school in 3rd or 4th grade over which song was better, “Thriller” or “Beat It.”  Obviously,  it was “Billy Jean,” but during that strong of a debate, I would keep my opinion to myself. 

I was congratulating myself on being so calm as the radio started playing “Thriller.”  I was halfway through the song when I realized there were tears streaming from under my sunglasses.

I don’t want to put it out now that I didn’t think he was a freak. Absolute train wreck. But somehow, the inherent entertainment of that only added to my lifelong love affair with him and his music. To me, he was the Mozart of our time.

If you enter this world knowing you are loved and you leave this world knowing the same, then everything that happens in between can be dealt with

I think that  I can safely say, he left loved.

Goodbye, Michael Jackson! Your music will never die.

~ by Layla on June 25, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Day The Music Died”

  1. Yeah. I just told someone that I think now that he’s dead, we can get back to focusing on how great he was before the crazy circus that was his life overshadowed the music he made. And I just finished listening to Billie Jean. Can’t decide whether I’m more or less likely now to make everyone dance to Thriller at the wedding. Leaning towards more.

  2. http://www.time.com/time/photoessays/2008/michael_jackson_50/

    some amazing photos.

  3. I will moon-walk for you always.

    *Tilts hat down over one eye.*

    *Eyes baby.*

    *Eyes window.*

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
