Bumper Stickers Suck.


Bumper Stickers

Today there was a big huge wreck as I was driving home from work. That’s not terribly news worthy at all, actually. But I was looking around in between channel surfing on the radio and thinking my thoughts and one thing I can never help but notice is bumper stickers.

Let me just put it out there right now: I hate them. It’s like there are two different groups of people in this world: those that have them and those that do not. And we, the latter group, are just better.

As most people that know me are full aware, I have my thoughts and opinions on most anything. I’m not generally shy about sharing them, either. But I do not feel the need to foist my opinion of a topic on someone absolutely unsolicited.  It’s actually worse than that. It’s a version of eye rape.  It’s kind of the same reason why when I’m in a grocery store, I don’t turn to the person behind me, shake their hand and say, “Hi. I’m Layla and I believe very firmly in capital punishment.”

The person in the car in front of me telling me “Choose Life. Your Mother Did” isn’t even someone I’m meeting. We are not even interacting. So it astounds me how the person in that car would feel I gave even a little rat’s ass about how they feel on the abortion topic.

I also fail to understand what could be good about defacing a nice automobile with them. Hello? Isn’t it something like a 28 percent devaluation of the car just by driving it off the showroom floor? and then to mar the finish with a ..bumper sticker just cuz you want to make sure everyone knows you are “Still Mad at Yoko” or that you voted for Kerry in ’04.

And while occasionally, I do see an amusing one, you are not exempt either. Because truthfully, the ones that amuse me are the ones in all probability were not meant to be funny. Yes, Loser, I laugh at you being STUCK with your permanent reminder of another loser. Kinda like the schadenfreude glee I get when some nimrod tattoo’s his girlfriend’s name on him and then the whore goes and sleeps with his best friend.

The thing is, it’s so overbearing of some people to force their views on the world when no one asked them for their 2 cents.  I do not need your help to form my relationship with Jesus and I would not be bragging about my life philosophies if I were you  when “Mean People Suck” is the best I could come up with.

~ by Layla on September 2, 2009.

6 Responses to “Bumper Stickers Suck.”

  1. Yes. Although I do get a secret thrill off the people who commit fully and wallpaper the tail end of the vehicle with their life’s philosophies. You know the ones. Those people almost always work at either a gas station or Taco Bell.

  2. Hmm. This is hypocritical, and as a friend I feel obliged to point out the following: A blog post, status update or tweet is in many instances nothing more than a high-tech bumper sticker. Changing a Twitter icon to a green background to show disdain or protest a worldly injustice… A specific status update to show solidarity for any cause and urging others to follow suite…

    I’m not one to deface my car in any way, but I don’t mind people who do. Sometimes the bumper stickers are a good distraction for the same reason I enjoy reading blogs. Eye-rape is easily dealt with by a reasoning mind; good things often come of it – like this blog.

  3. my blog post is not at all the same as a bumpersticker. you hafta actually go click the URL to get to my blog post. i’ll stipulate to the twitter. it *is* basically a bumper sticker. HOWEVER, that being said… if you don’t like what i have to say. you block me. I don’t have that option with a bumper sticker basically at my eye level stopped right in front of me.

  4. Now THESE BUMber stickers are cool.

    Thats a whole new blog topic, I’m sure.

    Roberta has those but hers say “Tofu”

  5. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
