My Mouth Did Good Today


If you know me in real life, you know that I have a tendency to blurt out stuff that is very *wrong* or makes things very awkward and often, I do not even know what possessed me to say it. I wasn’t thinking about it ahead of time? If you know me online, I’m sure this is probably not a stretch for you to believe this of me.

The other side of that same coin, I have this odd knack of saying exactly the right thing at the right moment, often with no idea why I said it.  Often this occurs during a tense moment, and clears the air.

One of those strange moments happened today.  I was at Taco Bell Drive-Thru.  The girl on the order board was incredibly nice (which in itself is odd).  They were crazy busy, so when I finally get to the window, it was a different woman. This woman was older? 60ish, I’d say. She looked very tired and harried. I don’t blame her, I would have been, too.

She had very little to say to me, just told me “hi,” told me my total, and took my card from me. (Needless to say, I approve heartily of that. I’m not looking to chit-chat with the staff when I’m in my car.)  She hands me my card back and is handing me my bag and asks “do you want any sauce?”

This is the odd part. Because really? this is strangely out of character for me:  “No, thank you, ma’am.”  The “ma’am” part was really weird, I have never been huge about that. I tend to “Sir” to an older man? But I guess I don’t really normally notice or think about women and also it sort of shits me when I am “ma’am’ed” (makes me feel old). I would ordinarily have felt the “thank you” would have been sufficient in the manners department.

Well, the woman just…stopped short and *stared* at me. I thought “oh holyfuck. Here we go. I’ve went and offended this poor woman.”  I think I literally leaned further back into the car seat.   So she takes a second and then says in this voice that I really wasn’t able to put a tone to because I was scared of her: “Now WHY IS IT that I’ve had 40 cars roll thru here in the last 20 minutes and it’s only the *WHITE GIRL* that has the basic manners to walk through life and has a little respect for her elders?????”

Now, I have never claimed to not be opportunistic. And if this INCREDIBLY scary woman wants to think I am my generation’s answer to “Miss Manners,” I am not dumb enough to disabuse her of the notion.  I just kinda tried a hopeful smile and said “I don’t know…raised right?” 

“*THAT* is exactly what it is. You were raised right! Have a great evening” and she gave me the biggest smile. It actually made me smile a little too, even though I thought about this all the way home.

I guess my point is next time I say the wrong thing, bear with me. Soon enough, I’ll say exactly the right thing, too.  My mouth has a mind of its own, I guess.

~ by Layla on January 16, 2010.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
