Sorry, Steven!


I just want you to know I haven’t forgotten. I just….have to feel it before I can write about it. Especially something like torture.

I hope everyone is well. This winter has found me with…a winter. It does not make me particularly excited, by the way. Since before I graduated highschool, I’m used to cold in the winter but not a lot of weather. This year, however, it’s like it’s snowing every other day or something equally rotten.

It amuses me that I hesitate to “say” 2010 is going good.  I do not think I’m going to go into specifics. Some of you already know, so it’d just bore y’all. Some of you don’t know, and in that case:  I either don’t know you or I don’t want you to know!

I do, though, have one extra special little glimpse into my life for everyone. The front wall of my work is all glass. My line of sight is a “Hometown Buffet,” an icon of geriatric dining. The strip mall thingy I work in is huge so I’d say that “The Old Folks Home” (My boss’s title for it) is probably…..the distance of a couple of city blocks? Some days I look up and there are literally a hundred old people milling around outside waiting their turn to get in there. I am really not much of a fan of buffet, so I can’t even say with assurance what they serve there? I would assume the usual crappy buffet staples.

I wonder, though, *why* the older people FLOCK to this place? I mean, they could eat cheaper other places. They can’t use the excuse of saving leftovers. I find myself wondering often if something goes on in there that the rest of us do not know about.  A couple of the agents like to run down there and get salad and soup for lunch. And I know they would tell me if something odd caught their attention.

But I suspect, its after lunch. Something sinister that starts revving it’s engines about 3pm when the most eager old people start coming in for supper.  It could be that the mashed potatoes are the secret weapon of  “THE BUFFET.” Vats of them served up instead of Kool-aid ladled in the jungles of Guyana. I think perhaps I should attempt to solve this mystery.  I just feel something is off when people shuffle around the parking lot like zombies as they wait their turn to fill up on lima beans.

~ by Layla on February 16, 2010.

One Response to “Sorry, Steven!”

  1. The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
