When Television Meets Music


Yesterday morning when I was driving to work, the alternative station I listen to was talking about Robert Culp dying. What a sad deal, blah blah blah. The DJ is about my age and I think we’re a little bit older than the demographics of the station because she was going on and on about “Greatest American Hero” and how it’s the best television theme song ever and her two little..helper DJs appeared pretty close to clueless.

I think I have to agree with Afentra insofar as it’s ONE of the best TV theme songs ever. As soon as she started chattering about it, I heard it in my head and then they played it and I was full on wailing along to it as I drove.

Years ago I chattered about my favorite television themes, but that is long gone. So I feel free to indulge myself again. And for some of you, this will be all new information on my favorite topic: myself.

This is really in no particular order. It would take me a lot longer to agonize my way into ordering these.  Greatest American Hero was a bad television show. But the song? Deeply cheesy, pop-ish, and the sing-along quotient is off the charts. “BELIEVE IT OR NOT…”

Miami Vice. Jan Hammer. I honestly did not watch this show very often or very closely. I think I was actually a bit too young for it. I want to remember it was Friday nights. And I think it was after “Dukes of Hazzard” Yes. It was. Because often, Miami Vice music meant “Bed Time.”

Knight Rider. “A shadowy flight into the dangerous world of a man who does not exist.”  I loved this show more than I could ever possibly explain. My brothers loved Dukes of Hazzard most, but everything stopped when Knight Rider was starting.

I am relatively certain I have never seen this show.  But my mother did.  After we went to bed. I can remember laying in bed and hearing this music.  And I thought JR was the shit (my mom was all about the father, Jock?).  It has french horns taking the melody..how can it be wrong?

“I’m coming to join you, hunny!”  I loved Sanford and Son.  I watched it in syndication when I was a kid. Like several of the other shows, I was actually too young to watch it when it aired.

Are you seeing some themes here? I noticed that all my choices were shows from when I was a child. It seems as well that  I tend to gravitate towards more simple melodies with big fanfares! And also it seems I just have never watched that much television.

~ by Layla on March 27, 2010.

One Response to “When Television Meets Music”

  1. Is this Layla from Raytown?

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
