Ban More Of Those Brats!


Small Children Not Welcome

Two posts in two days. I don’t remember the last time I did that. As I was flipping through headlines, I got so worked up about this that I knew I had to throw my two cents in immediately.

Mike Vuick, owner of the Pittsburgh area eatery has just announced a ban on children under 6 at his casual dining establishment.

After receiving noise complaints from customers about crying kids at neighboring tables, Vuick decided to institute the policy, which will go into effect July 16.

In an email to customers, Vuick explained: “We feel that McDain’s is not a place for young children. Their volume can’t be controlled and many, many times, they have disturbed other customers.”

The owner of the “upscale, casual and quiet” restaurant explains to WTAE Local News, he’s got nothing against kids in general, but their endless screams at public dinner tables are “the height of being impolite and selfish.”

I ABSOLUTELY AGREE!

I don’t know how many times I’ve been to any number of places and seen (and heard) little children just ..going .  Granted sometimes, it is uncontrollable brats that have no ‘home training” at all and other times, at one table there might be one child that is behaving in a suitable manner and then a baby that is carrying on.  Which I understand; neither you nor the baby can help it.  Babies cry.  However, it is not my problem.  And it is incredibly “impolite,” “selfish.” AND unfair that you should expect your child to become my problem for the duration of  that meal out. I should not have to have my evening  made unpleasant because of your screaming baby.

But not everyone is on board. Some Monroeville locals are offended that they’re being singled out for having young kids, and pointing fingers at noisy adults.

Oh my God. You self-entitled asshole. You *are* being singled out.  You made a lifestyle choice and in this instance, you are being made to take responsibility for it. Not the rest of us. You.

I get that you think your screaming baby is the best thing that ever happened to you.  Well, here’s a secret: the rest of us think it’s a nuisance. Don’t get me wrong,  I like kids and most generally, children love me.  So this isn’t a rant against children in general.   But you have this baby and you still want to go out on Wednesday night to TGI Fridays?  That’s great. Get a sitter. Judging by the tension all over your face, you could use a break.

I would be all in favor of a compromise.  A lot of restaurants have  “Family Night.”  Why not do that a lot more places?    Some sort of discount and you can bring your whole tribe of spawn *THAT* night.  If I or anyone else chooses to go there on that night? That’s on us.  The rest of the time?  No.  Leave the germ donkeys at home.

~ by Layla on July 12, 2011.

6 Responses to “Ban More Of Those Brats!”

  1. lol

    As a parent, I have to say that you’re being selfish for wanting quiet time! Sheesh. 😉

    In reality, I have to agree. I’ll bring River out to dinner or lunch with us (typically lunch), and if he starts to fuss at any moment, we get up and we walk him out. Whomever I am with can eat alone, or, Brandon will take him while I eat. I don’t want to interrupt others dining, nor do I want to inconvenience my own child for the sake of my wanting to eat a hot meal not prepared by myself that I’m paying for.

    It’s a Catch-22 in my eyes, but I have to say that I agree with some of the things said.

  2. Bahahaha.. germ donkeys, I love it. Maybe children should just not be allowed out of the home until they’re 10 or so. (I say that with about 4/10 sarcasm; it was a long day and there were a lot of rambunctious children.) But seriously, some environments are not made for children – most of whom can NOT be expected to sit and behave quietly for long periods of time. I’m not sure a ban is appropriate in every circumstance, but I do think more parents should be more considerate about when and where they bring their kids. +1

  3. AWESOME!!! I love this.!!! I totally agree and wish more places did ban them. I would remove my son when he small if he was having a meltdown. I work in a deli in a grocery store and these “parents” let their brats run around, scream and mow people down with their kiddie-sized shopping carts(who ever thought those damn things up should be strung up by their short and curlies!) Oh, and they encourage the little monsters to beg for cheese and samples and be picky about it. This is the next generation? Scares the hell out of me!

  4. Parents need to learn how to teach their kids manners.

    It is not the kids fault. It is the parents fault. Ban the dumbass parents.

    Kids today have too many “rights” and freedoms. Plain and simple. Would ANY of us (mid 30’s and older) have acted this way when we were young? NO. Why? We would have gotten whipped right on the spot. I will NOT hesitate to spank my kids in public. I don’t give a crap what anyone says. It is my job to teach my kids right from wrong. If I decide to spank them, who can tell me otherwise.

    Anyone who says kids need to be banned from more places are selfish. Just as you think kids should be left at home at all times, maybe you should have to stay at home. If you have chosen NOT to have kids, who do you think are the ones that will be taking care of you when you are 70+ years old?????

    • changing a diaper now in the *hopes* of having my own diaper changed later, does not seem like a good reason to have a child, but to each their own, i guess.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
