Sometimes They Are Just Soybeans


Given that here I sit, writing again, you will believe a bit easier that I’m making a concerted effort to put more effort into my writing.  But I couldn’t think of anything to write about so I started surfing around.  (I just wasted 20 minutes surfing again.)

I thought that perhaps I’d grab some little meme, do it and then perhaps not shamelessly self-promote like normal.  In that instance, it’s no less self-serving than when I go ahead and be a paste whore for a few moments.  I generally assume no one is interested in my mostly random chatters solely about me.  Well – almost no one.  But email to him will generally suffice in my need to talk about myself, so I generally don’t try to wheedle everyone to read those.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m going to interrupt my train of thought with something of a … commercial break.

While I was typing away just now, someone knocked at my door and when I asked them to identify themselves, they told me they were with ADT (the alarm company).   Right. Like I’m going to let these people in so they can look at my shit and then ROB ME? Hardly.  Perhaps I’m paranoid.  And I am definitely up-selling my shit in my head.  Still…

Ok. Back to the regularly scheduled broadcast…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So where was I? oh yes. Meme’s.  so I’m searching all over the internet looking for something that interests me and I find  a little more than I had bargained for.

I also found 9 bazillion sites that basically repeated the tenets of that essay:  I’m going to repost something else I grabbed that claims they are quoting from Wiki.

A meme (pronounced /ˈmiːm/, rhyming with “cream”[1]) is a postulated unit of cultural ideas, symbols or practices, which can be transmitted from one mind to another through speech, gestures, rituals or other imitable phenomena. (The etymology of the term relates to the Greek word μιμητισμός (pronounced /mɪmeɪtɪsmos/) for “something imitated”.)Supporters of the concept regard memes as cultural analogues to genes, in that they self-replicate and respond to selective pressures.

The British scientist Richard Dawkins introduced the word “meme” in The Selfish Gene (1976) as a basis for discussion of evolutionary principles in explaining the spread of ideas and cultural phenomena. Examples of memes given in the book included melodies, catch-phrases, beliefs (notably religious beliefs), clothing fashion, and the technology of building arches.

Oh praise the lord.  I almost don’t know where to start.  First, I *refuse* to rhyme it with ‘cream’  it’s ME-ME. Cuz that’s basically what they are about.  Me, Myself, and my good friend, I.

Secondly, I can take it back even further that 1976 or even “The Greeks.”   Probably to the dawn of man. I have a pre-evolutionary idea that we still use: “Monkey see, monkey do. ”  It’s all about acceptance and blending.  Even more basically, one sees something funny, exciting, moving, etc. – one shares it.

LOLCAT

I didn’t just choose that one cuz he looks just like Kitty… but it helped

Finally, I get it.  All that crap that was endlessly spouted. Philosophically, Sociologically. Yes.  Fine.  But I also can’t help being annoyed by it.  Because my very first thought as I read it was “Yes. You are attempting to intellectualize as a justification for the fact that you (and a LOT of other people)  like to pass around pictures of cats with ebonics photoshopped onto them. ”

Don’t get me wrong, I find some of them amusing and I have indulged more than once in the desire to go thru some dumb book list to brag to the world of how well-read I am.  I also have a bright yellow t-shirt that says “Ninja, Please.”  So I am not at all claiming to be above the lure of digging what everyone else digs.

I get that that’s not really the point so let me try to ease into it:   A while ago, a friend of mine told me the *best* story about a mutual acquaintance of ours.  This MA was out and about at a coffee-house or something and was eavesdropping on the next table. A couple of hipster fags were going on about how great edamame was.  Evidently, after a bit, she couldn’t take it anymore, turned around and was like “Dude. they’re just fucking soy beans!”

So there you go.

~ by Layla on August 2, 2011.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
