There is a Point Beyond Just the Boobies


Door To Door “Doctor” Offering Free Breast Exams

Today I was driving home, I was thinking I needed to write since it had been a couple of weeks since I really had. I had myself all worked up with a rant.  I was super into it, too.  Talking aloud and everything.  But then the radio caught my attention.  My comedy radio station likes to do “news stories”  and make a couple of  jokes about them.  But this one caught my attention because it was not “News.”

Or rather, because it was incredibly old news.

Mr. Winkoff

MIAMI – A 76-year-old man claiming to be a doctor went door-to-door in a Florida neighborhood offering free breast exams and was charged with sexually assaulting two women who accepted the offer, police said Thursday.
One woman became suspicious after the man asked her to remove all her clothes and began conducting a purported genital exam without donning rubber gloves, investigators said.
The woman then phoned the Broward County Sheriff’s Office, and the suspect fled. He was arrested at another woman’s apartment in the same Lauderdale Lakes neighborhood on Wednesday, a sheriff’s spokesman said.
The white-haired suspect, Philip Winkoff, carried a black bag and claimed to be visiting on behalf of a local hospital.
“He told the woman that he was in the neighborhood offering free breast exams,” sheriff’s spokesman Hugh Graf said in a statement.
At least two women, both in their 30s, let him into their homes, and he fondled and sexually assaulted them, the investigators said.
Winikoff was not a doctor, Graf said. He worked as a shuttle driver for an auto dealership.

I knew this was old news because I remember being completely slayed by the story. I also remember very clearly writing about the story. In 2006. I wish I had saved this story when I moved my shit from one blog to this one. But I’ve never forgot it. The thing that remains most clear to me was that the woman that eventually alerted the authorities did so because he was not wearing gloves.  THAT was what made her suspicious. She had already agreed to the exam. It wasn’t about that he groped her in other places, That seems  just added in as it passes through the years.

I also remember being of the opinion, if some 76-year-old bastard, was willing to put that much effort into getting some tit, I’m not sure that I’d tell him no.

What kills me about this is (as usual) the ‘journalism’ …I heard the radio broadcast and I got all in tither about it. So I run in here to jump on the internet. I find articles that were within the week or whatever, but they kept going backwards to around the time the original story happened. It seems someone recently talked about it as though it were “new” news and then the whole world grabbed hold of it.

Anyway- So now I’ve bitched about bad journalism again and that makes me feel pretty good. Getting to bring this story up again makes me pretty happy as well. All these years later, and I still think its awesome and I’m kind of sad he went to jail.

~ by Layla on October 19, 2011.

2 Responses to “There is a Point Beyond Just the Boobies”

  1. Kinda sick and kinda awesome at the same time.

  2. cool story bro

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
