A Little League World


Yesterday, I started playing a new video game that Mr. L got me.  Yes, I did say “video game.”  I know. I was just as shocked that I wanted it and that I wanted to play it.  After messing with it here and there all afternoon, I realized that I had “won”  *seven* of the twenty-five achievements the game passed out.

I was not impressed, frankly.  I am terrible at it. I’ve never played in my life and suddenly, this game is all like “you rock, Layls!”  Hardly.  I mentioned it to Mr. Luke, along the lines of “Yeah.  Seven accomplishments? I really don’t think I’ve been playing this game long enough to have accomplished *anything.”   He made the comment that many games had gotten very patronizing in the “awards” they toss around.

At first thought, it sort of makes me sad, actually. Because it means less to try hard to actually make an accomplishment in that forum.  Especially if all you have to do is hit “start” and the game tells you you have really done something big.

But then it makes me a little irritated, too, because it seems to go hand in hand with this mindset that people seem to have lately that “everyone gets a trophy” and “There are no losers; only winners.”   Well, to that I’ll say the same thing I said to Mr. L last night:  “it’s going to be a rude awakening for the spoiled little bastard when he gets out in the real world and realizes that in “real” life,  not everyone gets a trophy.  And furthermore, very few win. Most lose.

~ by Layla on May 13, 2013.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
