The Scene of The Home Sweet Home


I read this article today and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it. Basically it was one of those “question the reader” polls: Would you live in a house where you know there had been a murder?

When Home is the Scene of the Crime

Normally, I would direct everyone to the comment section of most articles I post because, as everyone knows, the most entertaining bits are always in the comment section. As per normal, this one does not disappoint, either.  However, today I’m not going to let myself get sidetracked, raving about the awesomeness that is the stupidity of most people’s comments.

Today I’m going to stay with the subject at hand: the thrust of this article.   Would you? I keep thinking about how I feel about it in general.  I think, for me, it would depend less upon some event, be it good or bad, that happened in a house and more the vibe that I felt while I was inside it.

I really can’t say with any assurance if I believe in ghosts or spirits. I want to say that I do not and it’s a lot of crap.  But I can’t quite get myself to believe that  because I have never found enough compelling evidence to say with conviction “they do not exist.”

That’s not to say every house where every crime has ever taken place is “haunted.”  That’s probably as ridiculous as saying none of them are.   I wouldn’t want to live with a ghost, I know that.  But I don’t really think that’s the point here, though.

I don’t think I would care so much about a murder or what have you.  I think in many cases, one could pick up some highly desirable real estate for cheaps just because of that. Because often other people wouldn’t want to live there. But strangely, that can also absolutely not be the case. Some will pay a premium to buy a house that has become notorious for dramatic events that have unfolded within its walls.

To me, it’s all about the vibe.  I don’t know if my thoughts are rational or not but some places just feel.. bad.  Or unhappy.  Or downright unpleasant.  In my work, I go into plenty of other people’s houses.  More often than not, there is no particular feeling at all upon entering these dwellings.

Sometimes though, there is a vibe that is almost tangible.  I can think of one right off the top of my head.  My boss looked at me as though I was crazy when I announced upon being there about ten minutes “This was a very unhappy place.”  It was because I could feel that.  It wasn’t that the place was trashed. We have been to many that were much worse than this one.   It was just a lingering feeling of sorrow as though the walls had soaked it in.  Like when someone cooks bacon in the morning and late in the afternoon someone entering could still smell the bacon in the air.

That is the kind of place that I would have a hard time living in.   Not that I don’t think the next occupants couldn’t bring happiness in to the house and get rid of that juju (or whatever it might be). I just wouldn’t want to have start off like that.

I honestly think I’d be the person who would be intrigued to think I was living in a house where a murder had taken place.  As long as it wasn’t a very high-profile case. In that case, (as it was mentioned in the article) I would not want to have total strangers gawking at my house …well, like I would.  Because I can admit it, I’m fascinated by those kinds of events.

I will confess shamelessly that I have driven by a house and stopped to stare at a spot where I know a murder was committed and been entranced by it.  I am one of *those* people, yes.   I can almost feel Mr. L rolling his eyes as he reads this because he knows how I am.  I’d honestly be more inclined to choose the murder house because of the murder.

I will say, though, one comment creeped me out:  it was a thing about how an intruder had murdered a father and a daughter in 2002 and then later, in 2010, some other dweller in the same house had been killed by an intruder (I assume a different intruder). Needless to say, I WOULD NEVER LIVE IN THAT HOUSE.

I read a thing a million years ago about how you were more likely to be murdered in your home by a stranger if you lived in a yellow house within 2 miles of an interstate. And yes, I know anyone can take any “fact” and make some scary statistic out of it. And I also know that for that,  I think the Night Stalker had something to do with that statistic.   But I’m still not living in any fucking yellow house.

~ by Layla on May 31, 2013.

One Response to “The Scene of The Home Sweet Home”

  1. An interesting statistic that I’ve never heard before. I grew up in a yellow house, #13 was our address! No murders were committed however it was a very unlucky house!

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
