My Personal Crazy


Look At Mah Leg

Yes, It is one of my favorite LOLcats of all time.  Mostly cuz one of my cats does that constantly.  With her doll. But that is a whole other post.  Yesterday and much of today, however, it was me.  But just to me.

Had you read an earlier post, you’ll know that I fell down.  Sadly, I do that sometimes.   I skinned up my knees.  No big deal, right?  I didn’t think so, either.  So what ? I scabbed up my legs.  In no way the first time, and sadly, probably not the last.

Well yesterday, when I was getting dressed, I felt a little something in one knee and looked down to see my knee bleeding thru my jeans.  Of course, I stopped to investigate it.   One of the scabs had broke.  STILL not a big deal.  I just peroxided it, threw on some Neosporin and a big band-aid and went on with my day.

When I got home from my errands, I checked it and it seemed a little….off.  This is not good.   But I pulled off the band-aid cuz you gotta give it air, and went on with my business. But I kept checking it.  And it just didn’t seem right.

Some of you might be aware of my health neurosis.  I wouldn’t call myself a hypochondriac, because I am not.  I don’t imagine things that are wrong with me. When I get spastic, it’s because there is genuinely something wrong.  My problem is that I tend to always run on “worst-case scenario,” so sometimes I will….over-diagnose myself.

I became convinced that my leg was infected.  It wasn’t the infection that bothered me, but the suddenly looming amputation.  I am basically sat here staring at my leg ..yes, watching the infection spread and about every 15 minutes washing it out with peroxide.

I always do this, though.  I sleep the wrong way on my pillow and get a stiff neck.  Of course, I have meningitis.  I KNEW I FELT WARM BEFORE I WENT TO BED.   We have a toaster in our kitchen area and a couple of months ago, someone burnt some toast.  I smelled it and was sure the stroke was coming any moment.

The worst part is, even though I know I’m probably being completely loonytunes,  I can’t really stop myself.  If I prepare for the worst, then when it IS  just a stiff neck, I can be relieved.   It’s just better to assume the worst first so you don’t think it is nothing and have your bubble burst.

So this morning I woke up and ran in to check my leg.  I was not convinced it was better.   I decided to go check with the doctor.  She didn’t think it was infected, but told me that it could possibly become infected so she gave me anti-biotics “just to be safe.” And I feel so much better.

I can now rest easy with my health concerns for the moment, well I can once I take my vitamin C tablet for the day (because scurvy is a bitch).

 

~ by Layla on June 24, 2013.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
