Annoyances, Part 2


I have intended to rant about this for quite awhile, but I always got side tracked so I never around to doing it until now.  Perhaps it was only because I was out driving quite a bit today, and therefore had a lot of time to channel surf on the radio.  There are a lot of song lyrics that annoy me.

Before you quit reading, let me say one thing:   I am not going to ramble on about Alanis.   Everyone knows that she clearly has no idea what “ironic” means.  Actually, I’m going to rephrase:  “clearly, she had no idea when she wrote the song.”  There are eleven bajillion websites that will break it down for you line by line.  If you haven’t seen one of these sites (they have been up since the ’90’s…) I would suggest going to spend some quality time with Google.

Some of them make me a little sad because I like the song otherwise.   However, I am going to include one gem about “Ironic” I saw when I was searching around ‘researching:’

Isn’t it ironic? NO!!!!!!! IT’S A SERIES OF FUCKING COINCIDENCES, BAD DECISIONS AND EXTREMELY POOR ORGANISATION OF YOUR CUTLERY DRAWER!!!

Now we can move on from Alanis.

I’m going to start with a song I do actually like, aside from this line:

But that’s how it’s got to be
It’s coming down to nothing more than apathy
I’d rather run the other way than stay and see
The smoke and who’s still standing when it clears

The Fray, “Over My Head”

Yeah, No. *running away* is pretty much the antithesis of “apathy.” Sorry. Fail.

I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that

Meatloaf “Anything For Love”

Well then, Dipass, you won’t do “ANYTHING.” Nuff said.

Sometimes the sun goes ’round the moon
Just when I thought a chance had passed
You go and save the best for last

Vanessa Williams “Save the Best for Last”

No, it doesn’t.

~ by Layla on October 9, 2013.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
