GoodBye 2013


I seem to start so many of these with an apology for my lack of previous posts.  I’m not going to do that because here I am sat, typing away again.   I don’t ever think I could quit doing these just because sometimes I just …need to.

At the end of the year I always think about it.  Sometimes in a sense of all the things that have happened to everyone, and sometimes it is more a personal stock-taking.  I feel like today, my thoughts go in both directions.

For me, 2013 was a big year.   I turned 40.  I didn’t have any sort of age crisis associated with number, luckily.  But it still seems….unlikely?  I don’t feel what I had always imagined that number as.   Though, I also spent a lot of time getting my shit together.   I’m not going to sit here and say that none of is still apart but I’ve made headway.

When 2013 began, I was just settling into the new gig and planning Mr. L’s impending visit.  Nearly a year later, I am loving the space I made for myself there, and Mr. L and I are doing the last bit of waiting for him to move here.

I know I haven’t really mentioned that latter bit much.  I find it really hard to discuss things like that for consumption by strangers.   I want to work harder at that in 2014 by sharing more.

There it is: The Resolution.   Ugh.  I hate those.  I’ll just give it up for Lent, probably.   That’s usually the length of my strength of conviction to Change.   We shall see, though, won’t we?

I watched many good shows this year:  I watched seven seasons of Dexter.   I found my attention waning from about the 6th season.  I found the 7th season almost painful to get through.  I was wondering about the season finale.  I had to wait for the 8th season to air, and when I was ready to start a couple of months later,   I turned it on.   Before the recap finished, I realized I actually did not care.  I turned it off and had no issues doing so.

I find that many shows just drag on too long.   I have excused this belief for a long time by citing my “short attention span.”  But I do not think that’s it.  I was not *tired* of the Sopranos.   I still loved Friends all the way through to the end.  I think it is less about my attention span and more about a profitable franchise being wrung for every dime that can be squeezed out.

Breaking Bad ended perfectly.  I was not tired of them.  I never once thought “Ok.  Yeah, I’m getting bored.”   I have to say, though, that I am hitting that point with Mad Men.   Don is starting to become tedious.  I do not want to say that I do not have issues with Breaking Bad.   Sixteen episodes in the final season?  It sucked that they milked that for 2 years.    A lengthened final season would have been epic beyond all imagination especially with everything that happened.

I had never given much thought to Sons of Anarchy beyond “yeah, so what?”   Mr L had mentioned wanting to see it very early on.   I was just not very interested.  Then having lunch with Dawgz, she was just rhapsodizing about it and ….yes, she got me intrigued.  Enough that I started and then it was all “Holy Shit!” and I never looked back.

I let myself be sidetracked, as I often do, but I want to bring my point back around.  2013 was a great year for me.  In many ways that I am not going to bore everyone with, it was very hard.   But suffice to say, the good and rewarding kind of hard.

At New Years Eve, we often raise a toast.  I get that it’s not New Years Eve yet and at pre-noon, it’s a little too early to drink.  But I’ll just make it a metaphor.

To the perfect strangers that read this:   That you read my boring little rambles means so much to me.  Thank you.

To the people I know who read this little blog:  You guys are the absolute best.  Present or absent, I heart you.

As I sit here typing, it occurred to me if I were to ever actually verbalize my ultimate goals in life, I know my biggest one has always been to have people read (and like) the things I have written.  Call this a light bulb moment but I suddenly realized that I have achieved that.  I see clearly that it wasn’t just in or about 2013, but since discovery was in 2013, this year gets that credit.

Happy Holidays and a Joyous New Year!

 

 

~ by Layla on December 21, 2013.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
