Hello On The Other Side


I had to share a moment.

I’ve been having a bit of insomnia lately so sleeping straight through the night without any waking that I can recall is quite noteworthy.  Last night that happened.  The alarm went off and I thought “oh I can just ignore that.”

Only a few seconds passed before “oh. wait. no.  I can’t.  I have to get up and go to work.”  So I got up.  Not a big deal, really.

Here is the thing.  Tiny Miss Thang (also known as Renee) was also asleep when the alarm went off.  Cuddled up, snoring when the alarm went off. She was deeply, deeply displeased by the whole experience.  She stomped out of bed, swished her tail around, and grumbled.  A lot.

One would think it was the most awful thing to have befallen her in her tiny little life.  I found myself annoyed.  I found myself trying to be logical.   Logic and a cat really have no common ground.  When it is later than 6:20 am, I know this.

After listening to her bitch for 10 minutes, I found myself saying “you know…. *YOU* can go right back to bed and furthermore, no one told you you *had* to get up.”

She looked at me like I was retarded which is not a small feat considering she was already glaring  as though I was the cruelest “Authority” that has ever lived.

Her look said so clearly “Ha. Like you could manage *anything* without me supervising.”

Not my most spectacular story, but one has to begin with something, right?

 

~ by Layla on January 2, 2014.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
