Dumb & The City


Sex And The City

So I’m watching Sex & The City again. Yes, I’m prepping for New York. And…any excuse works.

The show originally began airing in 1998. I probably started watching it by 2000. I never saw a single episode on TV. I did not have HBO and I thought it looked “absolutely retarded.”

A friend of mine was in town visiting her in-laws while the husband was stationed overseas. Needless to say, she escaped and spent quite a bit of her visit with me. One night, we went to Blockbuster to rent a movie and they had a clearance sale which featured Season 1 on VHS. I mocked her, but she purchased it.

We watched whatever movie we had rented that night and just had a typical “girl’s slumber party.” The next morning over coffee she was all like “ok. I get it. You think it’s stupid. You’re just going to have deal with that for a single half hour. I *need* to watch one episode of my show.” I was gracious and just said “ok.”

I will freely admit, I was hooked. Good as her word, that episode finished and she clicked “stop” and was just “Thank you. I needed that.”

“Oh…. well I mean……….we don’t HAVE to stop.. we can watch some more, I mean, if you want to.”

She did. So we did. Like, the entire season. And that was kind of that for me. Fast forward like 2 years. In that time, she divorced husband and we sort of lost track of each other. Her former mother-in-law was a friend of my mother. And after that entire 2 years had passed, I was all “so since it’s obvious she doesn’t care for her Sex and the City any more than the ex husband, may I have it?”

I have since replaced season 1 and accumulated all the seasons. That first viewing, I was quite a bit younger than the characters and then I watched it when I was about the same age. Now I’m getting to the point where I am a slightly older than them. I could play it off like this is only my third watch but that’d make me a big liar.

I get that a lot of the success of most any TV show is when the fans can recognize themselves in the characters. With a cast of 4 women, I don’t think I’m unique to say I could always see a little bit of myself in each of them.

The thing is, though, Carrie was always the character I hated to see myself in. Even when I was watching the first time, I could see the dumbness in some of the things she did. I would often feel wise when I’d talk to the television “ARE YOU KIDDING ME? REALLY?” “NO! DON’T DO THAT!”

Most of the time, that armchair coaching was based on the fact that I had already done that very retarded thing and I knew how it was going to turn out.

I still love the show, however, I do find it a little frustrating to see a woman in her mid-30’s make rookie mistakes that I hadn’t made since I was in my mid-20’s.

~ by Layla on April 2, 2014.

Got Somethin' to Say?

 
